Episode #1: Introduction

Well, the podcast is up and running. Honestly, I’m not sure how I feel. A little excited, a little embarrassed and a little anxious. At any rate, there’s no turning back now. The show must go on as they say.

My wife got the opportunity to watch the first episode before I posted it. She liked it but she’s supposed to say that so I’m not sure if I believe her or not. She did say I talk with my hands too much but that’s my Italian side coming out. I always do that anyway.

I did discover that I’m not quite all that comfortable talking to the camera yet. I suppose that will go away with a few more episodes…I hope. Anyway, I hope you enjoy it and I look forward to putting together the next episode.

If you do watch it, let me know what you think either with a comment on this blog post or you can just send me email. Be honest. If this is something I really shouldn’t be doing, I want to know before I make a complete fool of myself; not that I haven’t already done that. Wouldn’t be the first time anyway.


 

16 thoughts on “Episode #1: Introduction

  1. Great podcast! The video was well done and a good introduction. Your wife is right you do talk with your hands but that’s a-ok-a.

    But I think the glue pot stole the show, just kidding. Keep it up.

  2. Yup I echo the above. I think the hands thing will be solved when you start demonstrating. Looking forward to the next one.

  3. Loved your first podcast, your mission statement and I LOVE the look of your shop. I look forward to future episodes and hope it comes available via iTunes so I can subscribe to it as I do to your blog.

    • Larry,
      You can subscribe via iTunes by clicking on the little triangle shaped icon at the bottom of the videoplayer and clicking the subscribe tab at the bottom of the window that pops up. It’s kind of small and a little hard to see but it’s there.

      Regarding the talking with the hands, it’s something I do all the time anyway, always have, so I’m not surprised I was doing it in the video. Must be genetic.

  4. I like your philosophy to do things your way but not force your opinions on others. I love the old tools I use and collect, but I use the occasional power tool as well. I look forward to future podcasts and projects.

  5. The podcast is great! Thanks! I look forward to more in the future. I would really enjoy hearing you talk about starting up a handtool only shop. I’d like some insight on where a beginner should start to do basically what you do. Is that shot in the video your entire shop? It looks like your shop is basically in a bedroom, is that so?

    • Nathan,
      Thanks for the suggestion for the show topic. I think you will want to check out the next episode which I am calling “Hand Tools for Every Shop”. I am planning to do an overview of what I think are the necessary hand tools for a blended shop as well as a hand tool only startup shop. Of course it will only be my opinion and I’m sure others would have other suggestions but I’m basing it on how I work and the tools I use most often. Look for it [probably] this Thursday night.

      The B&W picture is a picture of my shop. That’s basically the whole thing. It’s only 13’6″ by 7’6″ but it’s all I need. I guess it could be a spare bedroom but there’s no closet so it was probably designed as an office. At any rate, it’s small but it’s plenty for how I work. You really don’t need a lot of space if you dont have big machines with big footprints.

  6. Great intro. I’m glad to see that you can get the episode via iTunes too. That will go a long way to boosting your viewership. I’ve already seen your second episode too so thanks for doing the tool introduction. I hope you will talk about some resources for getting some of these old tools in the future as well.

  7. Great start! And what’s wrong with talking with your hands? Three episodes already! I’ve got some catch-up viewing to do…

  8. Hi Bob, I just learned of your site from a recent post by Bob Easton. I have read through several of your pages, and watched a couple of the videos. I am impressed with your site organization and teaching style. I look forward to catching up on watching the 2009 season, and then following you in 2010. I have been an amature woodworker for several years, and am starting to gravitate more and more toward hand tool use. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Bob, Like you I want to concentrate on the journey and relax. Frankly a table saw generating 100+ dB of noise that can kick back a board through a door just isn’t relaxing. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to learn.

    • Bryan,
      Thanks for taking the time to write! I agree with you re. the table saw. I had a kickback accident with a 5HP model when I first started out about 18 years ago and have been very cautious around them every since. Of course I don’t have to worry about that in my shop now ;), but I still remember it vividly. Enjoy the site, I think you will find that I am constantly learning as well.

  10. Great podcasts I’ve seen quite a few videos on general woodworking with machinery unfortunately there’s not much at all on hand tool woodworking which is a shame but none the less for the few videos I’ve watched so far you rank pretty high on my list of great intuitive videos. Keep up the great work and keep those videos rolling in. I really appreciate the time and effort you put into your videos to pass your knowledge on. So thanks for that as well.

  11. Great podcast, just learned about it today. Is there a way the rss can be updated so that I can get your podcast on Zune?

Comments are closed.