Sawing Long Stock

I received a question in reference to Episode # 4 of the podcast about sawing long stock. The viewer noted that all of the demonstrations in the podcast were done with relatively short stock (which was intentionally done to make filming easier). However, the viewer was curious as to how I typically handled long and/or heavy stock that is too difficult to manage with a single saw bench. So I took a few photos that will hopefully clarify and answer this question.

In order to rip long stock, I use two saw benches rather than a single one. I use the back end of my shave horse as a second saw bench (I intentionally made the saw bench and shave horse the same height for this reason). With the stock supported at both ends, I begin the rip the same as I would for a shorter board.

saw_bench02

Unlike sawing shorter stock over the side of the saw bench, I cannot simply keep sawing until I’m done. Instead, when my saw cut reaches the bench, I reposition the stock and continue sawing between the two benches until I reach the rear bench or until I can no longer saw comfortably.

saw_bench03

To finish the cut, I have two options. I can reposition the stock again and continue sawing through to the end or I can start the cut from the opposite end and meet the previous cut. In either case, the “keep” stock and the waste are fully supported throughout the cut.

saw_bench04

Crosscutting long stock can be done the same way. If the stock is manageable without clamping, I’ll simply span the saw bench and shave horse and hold it with my knee. If necessary, I may also use a pair of handscrews to clamp the board to the two benches. Then just saw between the two benches and both sides of the stock are fully supported.

saw_bench05

2 thoughts on “Sawing Long Stock

  1. I would imagine that clamping the board down while crosscutting would help keep the pieces from binding on the blade during the cut. Is that the case in practice?

    • It does indeed help to prevent binding if the stock isn’t balanced on the benches. However, because it takes time to clamp the stock down, I don’t usually do it unless I’m working with real long stuff or stock that just won’t cooperate. Usually I don’t find that I need to clamp it.

Comments are closed.