What I’ve Been Working On

Sorry for the lack of content recently here on the blog and podcast. Besides the fact that soccer and gymnastics seasons have started for my girls, for the last couple of weeks I’ve pretty much put aside everything else that was going on in the shop to finish working on this piece. I have a deadline to meet for this one or else Megan Fitzpatrick will be knocking on my door, which isn’t a bad thing in itself, but I don’t want to make Megan angry. Megan likes me right now and I’d like to keep it that way :).

Chimney Cupboard

More will be coming in the very near future. I’ll be posting updates & podcasts on the entertainment center (doors, finally!), the dressing table (more carving on the feet), the joyned stool (scratching moldings & turning on the pole lathe), and I’ll be starting a few other new projects as well (because three ongoing, unfinished projects just isn’t enough for me to keep track of). Just a few more minor details to take care of on this cupboard first.

13 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Working On

  1. Very cool Bob. I got to watch Roy build a similar cupboard for the next season of The Woodwright Shop, now I’m excited to read your article. Congratulations on being a world renowned, published author.

    • Thanks Shannon! Published yes. World renowned, well, let’s not get carried away :). I’m no where near as famous as those three guys who actually think woodworking is cool ;). I’m just happy to be able to do what I’m doing.

      I’m excited to see Roy’s version. It’s a really cool project to build. It’s super simple and for its size it goes together really fast. Unfortunately, my satelite company doesn’t offer the only channel in my area that carries Roy’s show, so I’ll have to wait for the season to be released on the web.

  2. Bob,
    I’m delighted to see I’ve scared you into the shop 😉 Honestly though, were I to get angry with everyone who turns in an article after his or her deadline, well, I’d pretty much have to be angry with everyone (including myself!).

  3. Bob isn’t running late, he’s allowing time for my new PWW subscription to start arriving so I don’t miss anything.

  4. Very cool Bob. Glad to see you’ll be appearing in more issues of PW. Can’t get enough of guys like yourself, Adam, and Roy in there. Still wishing and hoping for a hand tool only magazine. 🙂 Maybe someday.

    JB

    • Thanks Jamie! I wouldn’t hold my breath on the hand tool only magazine though :(. By the way, I’m still waiting on some new pictures of the indside of that big new building in your back yard ;).

  5. So, you’re going to be turning on your pole lathe, eh? I’ve seen your lathe, and it doesn’t have a power switch, so how are you going to turn it on?

  6. My June digital issue of PWW landed in my inbox today, it was worth the wait! I noticed all of the stock other than the door panels is 3/4″ rather than the more typical 7/8″ or so when planing down from 4/4 stock, was this to enable using 1x pine boards from the home center?

Comments are closed.