This Is Why I Hate Measuring

As a woodworker who studies traditional methods, I have taken to the practice of gauging as much as possible or transferring dimensions directly from one piece to the other. To me it’s just good practice and results in a much more precise fit than measuring with a ruler or tape. So why on earth did I use a tape measure to size this board before planing 1/2″ off its thickness and raising the panel? I have no idea, but I won’t make that mistake again. Buh-bye tape measure.

20120918-210555.jpg

1″ too short and 1″ too wide :oops:. Luckily I can cut it shorter and rip it narrower and use it in the upper door frame. Don’t worry, I’ll just put the door frame over the panel and trace the correct size on it this time. I know how to do that right.

13 thoughts on “This Is Why I Hate Measuring

  1. It happens to everyone, one time or another. Human error, can’t be avoided. If we humans were perfect, we’d be machines. Glad you have an amiable solution to this.

  2. UUGGHH!!! Happens to all of us. Great lesson affirmed though; you really can’t go wrong marking parts off of other parts. Takes all the risk out of it.

    Nice looking panel though. šŸ™‚ Really looking forward to the article.

    JB

  3. When I made the panel for the lid of my tool chest I did the same thing and made the panel an inch too short.

    I am glad to hear you can still make use of the panel though.

  4. Yup, done this more than I like to admit. And people think I’m silly when I say to throw out the rulers. I work best off a story stick. And I still occasionally make mistakes.

  5. Time to make the cabinet shorter! šŸ˜‰

    (BTW – Nice photo. I am not going to ask how you were standing when you took this).

  6. I’m SO with you regarding measuring. I am not a woodworker – I am a watercolorist/colored pencil/oil pastels amateur artist. I don’t want things to look like I thought things out too much and made it look exact. That takes away from the beauty of the finished product and can easily look assembly made. Not that there’s anything wrong with that! I eyeball everything. And I know what you mean about the feel of the wood and wanting to touch what’s interesting to the eye.

    • I usually agree with you, and I originally had wider bottom rails in both doors in the design of this cupboard. It didn’t look right to me though. I think it’s because the doors are inset and flush with the face frame. Because of this, the bottom rail of the face frame kind of blends proportionally with the bottom rail of the bottom door. Ditto for the top rail of the face frame with the top rail of the top door. Also, at the center, having the shorter top rail of the bottom door next to the taller bottom rail of the top door looked much to “thick”. So what I did was make the rails on the doors all the same and instead make the top rail of the face frame slightly shorter to give the whole thing (face frame and doors combined as one element) a taller bottom horizontal element and a slightly shorter top horizontal element. This has a visual effect similar to a door with a taller bottom rail.

Comments are closed.