Finished Spoon

I realized I never posted the pictures of the finished spoon I had been carving. It’s been finished and in use for awhile now. I don’t think it’s bad for my first attempt, but I can definitely see a lot of room for improvement. I’ll also be sure that next time I use a greener piece of wood. This one was way too dry and hard. I just used some wax for a finish, which has pretty much already worn off from use. It works well though.

spoon1

spoon2

spoon3

spoon4

spoon5

6 thoughts on “Finished Spoon

  1. Nice spoon Bob. Just a word of caution about the wax, in case you don’t already know. Cannuba and bee’s wax are good choices. However other waxes used for finishes have toxic solvents that won’t entirely evaporate. Some also have metals as drying agents. The manufacturers of finishes including waxes are notorious for not accurately listing ingredients on their products. There is no law regarding this. As I mentioned before, the food-safe oils penetrate and last through washing and hot sauces a bit longer than the wax. The oils that dry such as flaxseed and walnut will last longer if they are aloud to dry thoroughly although that can take a month or perhaps longer. Pure tung oil ( not the one that is used for finishes) dries the hardest but will take even longer to dry.

    • Thanks Roy! I just used some carnauba butcher block wax. Fortunately, or unfortunately as it may be, my degree and background is in chemistry, so I have this strange ability to identify many of these solvents by their smell. It’s a pretty useless trick, but it can have some value when these solvents aren’t listed on the label. Still, I’m very conscious of what I use for finishing. I certainly appreciate the heads up though. One can never be too careful.

  2. A sight better than my first attempts. I hope you’ll make more occasionally.

    Some of my favorite kitchen spoons I made from hard maple, and while they hold up beautifully, they were frustrating to carve.

  3. Bob very nice and this something I to am going to attempt, hopefully this winter. I hope mine turns out as well as yours. The problem is I hear this an addicting pastime.

    Thanks for sharing !

    Steve

    • Thanks John! I like the Tried & Ture stuff too. I’m also experimenting now with some raw (cold pressed) linseed oil that hasn’t been boiled or “boiled” (i.e. no driers) that I got when I ordered the powder pigments to paint the chimney cupboard from a previous post. I think that will work well too; basically the same thing as T&T, but less expensive and it comes in a plastic bottle rather than a can.

      See you in a few weeks!

Comments are closed.