Thanks & A Happy New Year

I continue to be awed on a daily basis with the support and community that this blog has become. It started out humbly in 2008 as a simple way for me to share my woodworking with like minded individuals and I really cannot believe what it has become in just over 4 years of writing and 3 years of podcasting. This year, the blog had over 220,000 hits from over 140 different countries worldwide; and I think it was a slow year as far as content goes. I certainly wasn’t able to post or podcast as frequently as I have in previous years, but the blog is still going strong thanks to this wonderful woodworking community.

So I express to all of you a heartfelt thanks for all of your continued support, comments, questions and suggestions and I wish you all a safe, happy and healthy new year! See you in 2013!

16 thoughts on “Thanks & A Happy New Year

  1. Bob,
    Your New Year comments and “Thank You” made me shake my head. We should be thanking you, not the other way around! So thank You! Maybe in 2013 some of us will be able to further our craft as much as you have. Again, many thanks.

    Jb

  2. Happy new year bob, here’s another question for ya, I was just thinking an offset handle on a cambered try plane might aid it in squaring off and edge. So what’s your take on offset handled bench planes ?

    • Not sure what you mean by offset handled. If you mean planes like those made by Old StreetTool (formerly Clark & Williams), I love them and would buy every plane they make if I had the disposable income to do so. Other than those, I’m not aware of any other plane maker making bench planes with offset handles. They ceased to be made in about the mid 19th century when prison labor and mechanization began to take over.

      • I agree Clark and Williams planes are very nice. I’ve been hunting for some antique single iron planes, and I have a chance to purchase one at an antique store near me but the tote is more to the right side of the plane behind the iron and it seems to have been originally made that way. I’m just trying to figure out if it will be more useful or if it is going to be uncomfortable to use.

        • It’s an old plane if it was made that way. I’d buy it if its in decent shape. The offset tote was a feature found on bench planes made when the hand craft was at its apex. They’re more comfortable if you’re right handed. Woodies went downhill from there. Clark & Williams planes are based on these.

  3. Hi Bob and Happy New Year to you – as a recent subscriber I’d just like to say thanks for your very helpful blogs / podcasts – looking forward to more in 2013!

  4. Happy New Year Bob from Thailand.!! Looking forward to all of your great stuff in the new year.

    Neil

  5. Bob,
    I agree with Jb above, we should be thanking you, so – Thank you. Your web site is the best, at least for us hand tool woodworkers. I watch repeatedly and enjoy the videos ever time. Thanks for your dedication to this craft, and for your willingness to share your knowledge with all of us.
    Happy New Year to you and your family,
    Tom Baker

  6. Thank you for the time you put into your blog posts and podcasts. The information is useful and a joy to watch. I look forward to the podcasts you will be putting out in this new year!

  7. Thank YOU Bob. I sure I speak for quite a few people when I say that some of us are much further along in woodworking than we would be if not for your blog and podcast.

    • You speak for me! I can safely say I would not be where I am in my skill and knowledge if it wasn’t for you. The first time I learnt how to true a board by hand was when I saw your podcast on the subject. Something I now know as the most basic of hand skills was foreign to me before I saw your blog. Thank you very much!

  8. Bob,

    I enjoy your site immensely, as a hand tool user myself I am just making stuff for my own enjoyment. This has been a beacon site for me. You are very down to earth in your explanations and well cover the topic. thanks for being here. I also enjoy the fact that you answer questions on WTO forum as well. Happy New Year.

    Joe W

  9. Bob I am sorry I am late to the Party but as mentioned we should be THANKING YOU for providing such a great and very interesting Blog and Pod Cast’s. I have learned so much form you about using hand tools and your projects are fantastic. Again Thank You and I hope you and your Family have a great 2013.

    Steve

    PS: As you can see I am trying to catch up on E – Mails from the Holiday’s !

Comments are closed.