Smith’s Key Striking Knife

So I just finished a new striking knife based upon the one pictured in Smith’s Key.  I’ve made a lot of striking knives in the past, and used a bunch of different commercially available models as well. However, none have felt as nice to me in use as this one. Maybe it’s just because this one has been more work to make than any other knife I’ve ever made or used. But I don’t think so. Something about that swell just behind the tapered blade that just makes it fit the hand so well.

This is probably an easy tool for a blacksmith to forge, but for someone working from 1/4″ thick O1 stock and using nothing more than a hacksaw and file (and maybe a little help from a belt sander and grinder), it’s just plain tedious work.  Not the kind I enjoy either. But it was worth it. I love the look and feel of this knife. However, I won’t be making any more.

Someone out there needs to start making these again, though. Please!

strikingknife01

strikingknife02

